Skip To Main Content

Explore Louisiana’s Rural Evolution

Across Louisiana, rural communities are collaborating with regional, state and federal partners to expand opportunities for the people and businesses based there. Governor Jeff Landry, Louisiana Economic Development and the Office of Rural Development are committed to sustaining this rural revitalization by attracting public and private investments that support business growth and job creation.

The Louisiana Office of Rural Development

The Louisiana Office of Rural Development advises the Governor on issues of concern to the citizens of rural Louisiana. It works diligently to harness state, federal and private resources and apply best practices from other states to Louisiana through executive or legislative efforts. Its objective is lasting and sustainable growth through improvements in eight critical areas: economic development, education, health care, infrastructure, clean water, agriculture and forestry, workforce development and broadband.

The State of Louisiana’s revitalization roadmap, “Comprehensive Game Plan for a More Resilient Louisiana,” on June 23, 2021. Download a PDF of the 46-page report.

Office of Rural Development Regional Directors and Staff

Carlos Jones

Coordinating and Development District

Alison (Ali) Bates

Acadiana Planning Commission

Michelle Eroche

South Central Planning and Development District

Major Coleman

Capital Region Planning Commission


Louisiana prioritizes rural economic development, offering incentives and resources to empower small businesses, spurring growth, and fostering local prosperity.



The Louisiana Economic Development (LED) team works in partnership with rural stakeholders, local, regional, and federal organizations to drive progress in rural communities across the state. In every effort, area, and initiative, we work to elevate and support community-led efforts to revitalize rural communities.

View all resources arrow-small

News & Announcements

Click the tiles to read more about recent economic development program and project announcements affecting rural communities around the state.

View all news arrow-small