LED And SBA Honor 2014 Small Business Award Winners

BATON ROUGE, La. — Today, Louisiana Economic Development and the U.S. Small Business Administration announced the 2014 Louisiana Small Business Award winners at an event honoring small business leaders who exemplify the entrepreneurial spirit of Louisiana. The winners were honored in a private reception at the Governor’s Mansion.

“Louisiana’s small businesses provide the necessary goods and services to support our economy across many industry sectors. The 2014 award winners exemplify the vital role that Louisiana’s small business leaders and their enterprises have in our state’s economy,” LED Secretary Stephen Moret said. “Since January 2008, Louisiana has economically outperformed the South and the U.S., and with small businesses accounting for more than 97 percent of all employers in our state, there is no doubt that their innovations and successes are helping to drive our state’s performance. They play a crucial role in job creation and entrepreneurial growth, and we commend them on their dedication and fortitude.”

In 2013, LED and the Louisiana Small Business Development Center Network served more than 11,700 small businesses and individuals, directly resulting in 1,281 new jobs, 415 retained jobs and the launch of 171 new businesses. The Small Business Awards recognizes top performers in various categories. The 2014 Louisiana Small Business Award winners are:

2014 Champion Award Winners

Exporter of the Year:
Patrick Gililland
SPF Depot
Bossier City

Financial Services Champion:
Clayton J. White
Simmons & White, LLC
New Orleans

Family-Owned Business Champion:
Robert Neal Smith
Smith’s South-Central Sales Company, LLC

Minority Business Champion:
Tiya Scroggins
Scroggins Consulting, LLC

Women in Business Champion:
Marian Pierre
Crescent Guardian, Inc.
New Orleans 

Small Business Development Center Service Excellence and Innovation Center Award:
Will Campbell, Jr.
Louisiana Small Business Development Center at Southern University and A&M College
Baton Rouge 

Small Business Person of the Year:
Keith DuRousseau
Keiland Construction, LLC
Lake Charles

2014 LED Entrepreneur Awards

LED Small and Emerging Business of the Year:
Dwayne Sonnier
Drake Specialties, LLC

LED Small Business Innovation Award:
Karan and Richard Kirkham
Bullet Designs, Inc.

LED Most Outstanding SEBD Intermediary:
Co-Awardees in Central Louisiana Region
Mayor Jacques M. Roy and Johnie Varnado
City of Alexandria
Rev. Joe S. Green and Johnie Varnado, Ministers of Economic Development

Louisiana PTAC Contractor of the Year:
Phillip LeBert
Service 24 Electrical & Maintenance, LLC

NFIB Small Business Champion:
Scott Roe
Spillway Sportsman

USDA Rural Development Lender of the Year:
A.J. Roy III
Cottonport Bank

USDA Rural Development Business of the Year:
Judd Anderson and Brad Augustine
Brudd Construction Company

Media Inquiries

Members of the news media can contact the LED Communications team for information and interview requests about LED projects and programs.

Media Inquiries