
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 

Office of Business Development 

and 

Board of Commerce and Industry 

Industrial Ad Valorem Tax Exemption Program 

(LAC 13:I.Chapter 5) 

This Emergency Rule is being published pursuant to 

emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:953(B). The Department of Economic Development 

and the Louisiana Board of Commerce and Industry have an 

immediate need for rules for the Industrial Ad Valorem Tax 

Exemption Program (LA Const. Art. VII, Section 21 and 

R.S. 51:921 et seq.), to effect fees under the new fee 

schedule provided by HB 773 of the 2015 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature. A delay in imposition of such 

fees would hinder effective administration of this program, 

impose unfunded and unrecoverable costs on the 

department, and delay access to the program by qualified 

applicants, resulting in an adverse financial impact on the 

state, the department, Louisiana businesses and taxpayers. 

This Emergency Rule shall become effective October 29, 

2015, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 

allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act, or until a 

final Rule is promulgated in accordance with law, whichever 

occurs first. 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to 

continue the provisions of the July 1, 2015 Emergency Rule 

(effective for 120 days), published in the Louisiana Register, 

as an Emergency Rule in the July 2015 edition, and then 

subsequently as a Notice of Intent in the August 2015 

edition, with a public hearing which was held on September 

29, 2015. 

Title 13 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 

Chapter 5. Industrial Ad Valorem Tax Exemption 

Program 

§503. Advance Notification; Application 

A. An advance notification of intent to apply for tax 

exemption shall be filed with the LED Office of Business 

Development (OBD) on the prescribed form prior to the 

beginning of construction or installation of facilities. The 

phrase "beginning of construction" shall mean the first day 

on which foundations are started, or, where foundations are 

unnecessary, the first day on which installation of the facility 

begins. An advance notification fee of $250 shall be 

submitted with the form. The advance notification will 

expire and become void if no application is filed within 12 

months of the estimated project ending date stated in the 

advance notification (subject to amendment by the 

applicant). 

B. - B.3. ... 

C. An application fee shall be submitted with the 

application in the amount equal to 0.5 percent of the 

estimated total amount of taxes to be exempted. In no case 

shall an application fee be smaller than $500 and in no case 

shall a fee exceed $15,000 per project. 

D. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the State Board of 

Commerce and Industry, December 9, 1946, amended and 

promulgated by Department of Commerce, Office of Commerce 

and Industry, LR 11:97 (February 1985), LR 12:662 (October 

1986), amended by the Department of Economic Development, 

Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 20:864 (August 1994), 

amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 

Business Development, LR 37:2376 (August 2011), amended by 

the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 

Development and the Board of Commerce and Industry, LR 42: 

§505. Miscellaneous Capital Additions  

A. - B. ... 

C. An application fee shall be submitted with the MCA 

application in the amount equal to 0.5 percent of the 

estimated total amount of taxes to be exempted. In no case 

shall an application fee be smaller than $500 and in no case 

shall a fee exceed $15,000 per project. 

D. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 11:97 (February 

1985), amended LR 12:662 (October 1986), amended by the 

Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce and 

Industry, LR 20:865 (August 1994), amended by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 

37:2377 (August 2011), amended by the Department of Economic 

Development, Office of Business Development and the Board of 

Commerce and Industry, LR 42: 

§525. Effective Date of Contract; Project Completion 

Report  

A. The owner of a new manufacturing establishment or 

addition shall document the beginning date of operations and 

the date that construction is substantially complete. The 

owner must file that information with OBD on the 

prescribed project completion report form not later than 90 

days after the beginning of operations, completion of 

construction, or receipt of the fully executed contract, 

whichever occurs last. A project completion report fee of 

$250 shall be submitted with the form. The deadline for 

filing the project completion report may be extended 

pursuant to §523. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the State Board of 

Commerce and Industry, December 9, 1946, amended and 

promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, Office 

of Commerce and Industry, LR 20:867 (August 1994), amended by 

the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 

Development LR 37:2379 (August 2011), amended by the 

Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 

Development and the Board of Commerce and Industry, LR 42: 

§527. Affidavit of Final Cost  

A. Within six months of the beginning of operations, 

completion of construction, or receipt of the executed 

contract, whichever occurs last, the owner of a 

manufacturing establishment or addition shall file on the 

prescribed form an affidavit of final cost showing complete 

cost of the exempted project. A fee of $250 shall be filed 

with the affidavit of final cost or any amendment to the 

affidavit of final cost. Upon request by OBD, a map showing 

the location of all facilities exempted in the project shall be 

submitted in order that the exempted property may be clearly 

identifiable. The deadline for filing the affidavit of final cost 

may be extended pursuant to §523. 



AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the State Board of 

Commerce and Industry, December 9, 1946, amended and 

promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Office of 

Commerce and Industry, LR 12:662 (October 1986), amended by 

the Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce 

and Industry, LR 20:867 (August 1994), amended by the 

Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 

Development, LR 37:2379 (August 2011), amended by the 

Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 

Development and the Board of Commerce and Industry, LR 42: 

§529. Renewal of Tax Exemption Contract  

A. Application for renewal of the exemption must be 

filed with OBD on the prescribed form not more than six 

months before, and not later than ,the expiration of the initial 

contract. A fee of $250 shall be filed with the renewal 

application. The document shall not be considered officially 

received and accepted until the appropriate fee is submitted. 

Upon proper showing of full compliance with the initial 

contract of exemption, the contract may be approved by the 

board for an additional period of up to but not exceeding five 

years. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Pan 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the State Board of 

Commerce and Industry, December 9, 1946, amended and 

promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, Office 

of Commerce and Industry, LR 20:867 (August 1994), amended by 

the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 

Development, LR 37:2379 (August 2011), amended by the 

Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 

Development and the Board of Commerce and Industry, LR 42: 

§533. Reporting Requirements for Changes in 

Operations 

A. OBD is to be notified immediately of any change 

which affects the tax exemption contract. This includes any 

changes in the ownership or operational name of a firm 

holding a tax exemption contract. A fee of $250 shall be 

filed with a request for any contract amendment, including 

but not limited to, a change of ownership, change in name, 

or change in location. The board may consider restrictions or 

cancellation of a contract for cessation of the manufacturing 

operation, or retirement of any portion of the exempted 

equipment. Failure to report any material changes constitutes 

a breach of contract and, with approval by the board, shall 

result in restriction or termination.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 

20:867 (August 1994), amended by the Department of Economic 

Development, Office of Business Development, LR 37:2380 

(August 2011), amended by the Department of Economic 

Development, Office of Business Development and the Board of 

Commerce and Industry, LR 42: 

§535. Sale or Transfer of Exempted Manufacturing 

Establishment 

A. In the event an applicant should sell or otherwise 

dispose of property covered by a contract of exemption, the 

purchaser of the said plant or property may, within three 

months of the date of such act of sale, apply to the board for 

a transfer of the contract. A fee of $250 shall be filed with a 

request to transfer the contract. The board shall consider all 

such applications for transfer of contracts of exemption 

strictly on the merits of the application for such transfer. No 

such transfer shall in any way impair or amend any of the 

provisions of the contract so transferred other than to change 

the name of the contracting applicant. Failure to request or 

apply for a transfer within the stipulated time period shall 

constitute a violation of the contract. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 

20:868 (August 1994), amended by the Department of Economic 

Development, Office of Business Development, LR 37:2380 

(August 2011), amended by the Department of Economic 

Development, Office of Business Development and the Board of 

Commerce and Industry, LR 42: 
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